Match Report: Unbeaten Run Continues – Mayo vs Armagh 2022

It was a day to celebrate for Mayo fans as Mayo sealed off a victory against Armagh to maintain their unbeaten run in the Allianz Football League Division 1.

Mayo’s win didn’t come easy as they were put to the test against a strong Armagh side.

Mayo’s side had a last-minute change with injured Rob Hennelly being replaced by Rory Byrne.

Armagh had a strong start putting the ball in the back of the net in fifteen seconds after the first whistle which is safe to say was the first shock of an eventful match.

Ryan O’Donoghue opened Mayo’s scoreline with his first of many that got the ball rolling for James Horan’s men to fight back against a strong Armagh side.

It was very easy to overlook Armagh this year and think they wouldn’t produce but they made sure to make a statement against Mayo.

Armagh had their time to dominate the match and I’d say many Mayo fans like myself were worried our men wouldn’t be able to pull off the win, but like always our lads are still the kings of comebacks answering to Armagh as the match went on.

Ryan O’Donoghue was the star on Mayo’s side contributing eight points on the scoreboard alongside great performances from Oisin Mullin, Paddy Durcan, Padraig O’Hora, Diarmuid O’Connor.

The Mayo fans made sure to be heard throughout Dr. Hyde Park and the roars no doubt helped lift the Mayo team to the finish line in the last five minutes to finish off the win.

Each player wearing green and red today all made their impact against a very strong Armagh side and it was Mayo the team who deserved to be on the winning side as the final whistle blew.

Referee David Coldrick made a lot of decisions against Mayo’s favour but it didn’t stop Mayo from fighting with all their might to reach the end of the line.

It will be all eyes in the Kingdom this coming Saturday as Mayo prepares to face possibly their most challenging game yet.

It will be the hardest fight yet but our lads have come this far with no loss and I have no doubt they’ll put up the fight against Kerry and prove why they are one of the best teams in the country right now.

Congratulations to James and the panel on a brilliant win today and best of luck as they face Kerry next weekend.

Mayo Scorers: Diarmuid O’Connor, Ryan O’Donoghue, Paddy Durcan, Jordan Flynn, Matthew Ruane, Aidan Orme, Kevin McLoughlin.

Chloe Lynch

I'm Chloe Lynch a GAA journalist from County Mayo.
I've been writing for over a year, some of you might know me best as The Girl That Writes About Mayo GAA.
My main goal while writing is to give back to the players within the GAA.
I have had my work read by members of the Mayo panel.
I hope you enjoy this blog as I share my passion for GAA with you.

Previous Post
Next Post


Monday match reports - Mayo GAA Blog

[…] Others: GAA, RTÉ, The 42, Chloe Lynch. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *